The history of a Buddhist women's datsan «Zungon Darzhaling» is related to the name of His Holiness Dalai Lama XIV Tezin Gyatso, who visited Buryatia in 1992 and advised to open a Buddhist women's datsan to keep peace and accord between peoples of Buryatia.
Puppet Theater "Ulger" (founded in 1967) is the only theatre in Buryatia for children and youth. The spectacles, based on stage plays written by Buryat playwrights and in Buryatian, are the basis of the theatre's repertoire, along with works of Russian and foreign authors. Therefore, young viewers can know more about their roots and feel more love for their native language.
The whole history of Buryatia (unique stock collection of more than 100 thousand items) is in the Museum of History named after M.N. Khangalov.
An impressive exhibition in the Ethnographic Museum (the only one in Siberia and the Far East) reproduces the ethnic diversity of the People of Transbaikalia. The museum located in the picturesque area of Upper Berezovka.
East Siberian "Hermitage" - this is how you can figuratively call the Republican Art Museum named after C.S. Sampilov. It is one of the leading museums in Eastern Siberia.
Do you want to learn about the natural storeroom of Buryatia, want to know that it is fraught with innumerable riches? Visit the Geological Museum. Moreover, you will understand how beautiful and invaluable our Baikal region is.
GAUK RB (STATE AUTONOMOUS INSTITUTION OF CULTURE OF THE REPUBLIC OF BURYATIA) "The National Museum of the Republic of Buryatia", created in 2011, combines three museums: the Museum of History named after M.N. Khangalov, Art Museum named after C. S. Sampilov and the Museum of Nature of Buryatia. In 2013, the National Museum of the Republic of Buryatia attached the Novoselenginsky Decembrist Museum.
On July 6, 2009, the Alexander Garden square was opened in the Gostiny Dvor (The Merchant Court). “The Alexander Garden” became beautiful and non-violating the history integrity monument.
Monument to the Hero of the Soviet Union, Oreshkov Sergey Nikolayevich, together with the construction of the socialist town PVZ in 1939, combined in Locomotive Car Repair Park. Later in 1959, the park was named after Sergey Nikolaevich Oreshkov.
The statue of Vladimir Ilyich Lenin, the founder of the Soviet state, was opened on November 5, 1971, in the Council Square. The authors of the project are the sculptors G. V. Neroda and Yu. G. Neroda. The architects A.N. Dushkin and P.G. Zilberman developed and implemented in nature the architectural part. The project was exhibited in Paris and Montreal.
One of the square decorations is a large Monument to the fallen communist fighters, established in 1920 on the Soviets Square, and transferred to the Square of Revolution in 1970.
All Siberian cities built triumphal arches for the passage of the Tsarevich, the heir to the Russian throne, Nikolai Alexandrovich, the future last Russian Tsar Nikolai II. He travelled from the east along the Transsib railway from Vladivostok to St. Petersburg in the summer of 1891.
Located on the rocky right bank of the Uda River, near the road bridge. On the Battery, on the initiative of the Transbaikal Cossack Army, a granite cross was erected - in memory of the Cossacks-founders of the Uda fortress.
Location: The sculpture is located on Lenin Street (Arbat).
Location: Installed at the entrance of the Buryat State Opera and Ballet Theatre.
In 1975, to the 30th anniversary of the Victory, was erected a memorial "Memory" near the city cemetery in the village of Gorky in the Oktyabrsky district. The remains of soldiers who died from wounds in evacuation hospitals in Ulan-Ude during the Great Patriotic War were reburied from the city cemeteries.
The monument to the “peers who went into battle” (sometimes called the “Black Tulip”) was erected in 1998 at the initiative of the Afghanistan Veterans Council. The author of the project is Bator Bamuevich Badmatsyrenov.
The sculptural composition “Hospitable Buryatia” or, as it is also called, “Mother Buryatia” was established in 2002 in the centre of Ulan-Ude on the steep edge of the hill dominating Lenin Street, the court and consulate of Mongolia, and was a continuation of the architectural complex of the Opera Theatre the ballet.
In the centre of Victory Avenue, was erected a Memorial to the fellow soldiers who fell on the fronts of World War II.