On Gostinnodvorskaya Square in Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) (now on the Revolution Square of 1905s, the city of Ulan-Ude) was previously the chapel of St. Innocent of Irkutsk. It was built in 1871 by the Kyakhta merchant of the first guild Yakov Andreevich Nemchinov to “maintain in the means of subsistence” of the Tugnui missionary camp in Mukhorshibirsky district.
In Soviet times, the chapel was demolished. At the end of April 1999, the city administration finally received permission to restore the chapel. September 20, 1999, installed a cross on the construction site of the future chapel.
In August 2000, construction began. With the blessing of His Grace Eustathius, Bishop of Chita and Trans-Baikal, a decision to dedicate the restored chapel to the Holy Royal Passion-bearers was made.
Location: 21a, Lenin’s street