Erected on a high place, Trinity Church was clearly visible from anywhere in the city. Along with Odigitrievskiy Cathedral and Spassky Church, it was the dominant high-rise panorama of the old Upper Udinsk.
Here is how L. K. Minert describes the architecture of the Church in his book "Monuments of Buryatia architecture", published in Novosibirsk in 1983 by Education publishing house. "In its three-dimensional composition, Trinity Church belongs to the type, the variants of which are the other two earlier churches of Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk). According to the compositional scheme, the building combines the bell tower with the refectory and the Church and the longitudinal axis, and has two supplemental lateral limits. At the same time, the internal volume of the meal through a wide arch directly merges with the space of the Northern chapel. The peculiarity of the Trinity Church is that its building had two stages. First stage was the building without a southern chapel and in the first period of its existence, the Church had an asymmetric volume, plan and facades relative to the compositional axis of the building. In the southern wall of the refectory were arranged three large Windows, which after construction in the 50s. The nineteenth century the South aisle was turned into open archways. The Church is square in plan (10.20 x 10-60 m) and ends with a closed arch with an octagonal lantern. Two tiers of the bell tower have a square shape, the next two - are octagonal. In the architectural and spatial composition of the volumes, decorative bell tower and peculiar hypertrophied bulbs flavour reflected samples. Dating back to the cult architecture of North-Eastern Russia of the XVIII century with its distinctive transformation of barrack elements. The construction took place in the period of change in the architecture of the Baroque classicism, the approval of which in Siberia, of course, somewhat late. Therefore, in the interpretation of the details of the facades coexist forms of provincial Baroque and naive classicism."
One of the oldest in Ulan-Ude. The builders of the Church Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) merchants Vasily Pakholkov and Athanasius Raids. Construction of the wooden cemetery Church began in 1770, and it was built of stone in 1809. Around it within the fence was located the city cemetery. The main chapel (cold) in the name of the Holy Trinity was consecrated in 1816, the warm North - in the name of the Intercession of the mother of God – in 1818, the South – St. Innocent’s the Wonderworker – in 1856.
The temple was mainly conducted the funeral service, although they performed other ceremonies. In the 40s of the last century, like many other churches, the Church was closed and destroyed during the war. In Soviet times, the temple wanted to place a Museum of architecture, but due to the lack of funding for the reconstruction of this idea was abandoned. On the site of the cemetery built a city garden with attractions. Only in 1989, the Church was again transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church, after which its restoration began.
Location: 37, Kuibysheva Street.