The history of a Buddhist women's datsan «Zungon Darzhaling» is related to the name of His Holiness Dalai Lama XIV Tezin Gyatso, who visited Buryatia in 1992 and advised to open a Buddhist women's datsan to keep peace and accord between peoples of Buryatia.
Buddhist temple "Rinpoche-Bugsha", located on Bald Mountain, is one of the highest and most picturesque places in Ulan-Ude.
In October 1995 ex-Hambo Lama, Choi Dorji Budayev, built the Lamrim Buddhist Centre to spread Buddha’s Teachings. In addition, His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama was the first to donate to the temple. The Gyudmed Tantric Monastery monks' held prayers and rituals in the temple.
Ivolginsky datsan "Khambyn Khure" (Tibetan "Gandan Dashi Choinhorlin"; Buryatian “Түгэс Баясгалантай Үлзы Номой Хүрдын Хиид” means "monastery Wheel of teaching, bringing happiness and joy”) – is the Residence of Pandibo Hambo Lam, the Head of the Buddhist traditional Sangha of Russia, a large Buddhist monastic complex, a monument of history and architecture. Located in the Republic of Buryatia in the village of Upper Ivolga.
On Gostinnodvorskaya Square in Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) (now on the Revolution Square of 1905s, the city of Ulan-Ude) was previously the chapel of St. Innocent of Irkutsk. It was built in 1871 by the Kyakhta merchant of the first guild Yakov Andreevich Nemchinov to “maintain in the means of subsistence” of the Tugnui missionary camp in Mukhorshibirsky district.
Erected on a high place, Trinity Church was clearly visible from anywhere in the city. Along with Odigitrievskiy Cathedral and Spassky Church, it was the dominant high-rise panorama of the old Upper Udinsk.
The Odigitrievsky Cathedral, named after the icon of Holy Mother Odigitria, is the first stone structure of Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk). Its building began in 1741.
St. Nicholas Church was built on the initiative of veterans of railway workers, with the active support of the administration of the ESR.
Holy Ascension Church originally located on the right side of the Uda River. In 1809, it was moved to the left side and soon it was extended with Innocent's chapel.
The Catholic community in Buryatia was set up in the second half of the XIX century. The members were mainly qualified workers who came from Poland, Lithuania to build Transsiberian railroad. In addition to the Poles and Lithuanians, Czechs and Italians who lived in the territory of Buryatia were also Catholics.