The whole history of Buryatia (unique stock collection of more than 100 thousand items) is in the Museum of History named after M.N. Khangalov.
It saved the world-class Atlas of Tibetan Medicine, Buddhist religious objects, and wooden sculptures, as well as arts and crafts from precious metals and stones from master jewellers, rare books in the Tibetan and Old Mongolian languages and much, much more, which is the pride of the republic.
The uniqueness of stock collections is Buddhist collection. These are cult objects that fell into the funds in the 30s from the closed Datsans, such as sculptures of foreign Buddhist East, Buryatia from bronze, wood, papier-mache, stone and clay, ritual objects, masks and costumes of the Tsam mystery, temple musical instruments, robes of the Buddhist clergy. The most valuable in terms of uniqueness and museum significance among the museum collections is the Atlas of Tibetan Medicine. This is a set of 76 tables made in the tradition of easel Tibetan painting, illustrating the medieval medical treatise "Wai-Durya-Onbo". The complex of secular plots, written in a realistic manner, rare in its completeness, the level of artistic skill achieved by its creators, - all of these allows characterizing the Atlas as an outstanding monument of fine art and a versatile source for studying the medieval culture of the Buddhist world. Arts and crafts objects made of precious metals and stones are highly valuable. For example, silver women's jewellery, works of famous and unknown master jewellers of the XIX-XX centuries, silver coins of the XVIII-XX centuries, state awards of Russia and the USSR.
The museum's pride is the collection of rare books, which includes Buddhist literature in Tibetan and Old-written Mongolian languages. There are also two large vaults in this collection - Gandzhur and Dandzhur, constituting the Tibetan Buddhist canon. Gandzhur, written in silver, consists of 111 volumes. Dandzhur is the Tibetan edition of 224 volumes. The collection of Orthodox literature has more than 400 items of storage, in which the earlies and unique is the Ostrog Bible by Ivan Fedorov (1580 - 1581).
The exposition of “the Chronograph of Buryatia” opens the pre-revolutionary past of our region to the visitor from the 17th century - the time of Buryatia’s entry into the composition of the Russian state - until the formation of the Buryat-Mongolian ASSR in 1923. The historical chronicles presented in the exposition will tell about how they lived and wandered across the endless expanses of the Transbaikal steppes (Khorintsy and clans of Mongolian origin), livestock farming in Predbaikalia, living in the valleys of the Angara and Upper Lena rivers (bulagates, ekhirits, hongors, oirats).
The next section of the exhibition tells the history of the development of Transbaikalia by Cossacks and pioneers. Visitors will be able to witness that “the rifle won the bow,” see the weapons of the 17th-century Buryat warriors and servicemen of the same era. However, Siberia submitted not only weapons. Following the royal power, representatives of the Orthodox clergy came here. The exhibition displays the model of the Posolsky Monastery, which will allow you to learn about the activities of Orthodox missionaries who have become carriers and disseminators of the values of the spiritual culture of Russia among the indigenous people of Buryatia. The Cossacks moved deep into the territory of Transbaikalia. Old Believers migrated to Transbaikalia in the 18th century and left a bright mark in the history of our region. The liturgical books, icons, clothes, household items presented at the exhibition, pre-revolutionary photographs tell about their life, customs and religion.
Socio-political, economic events of the end of the XIX - beginning of the XX centuries, which shook the whole of Russia, are briefly reflected in the materials of the final sections of the exhibition. In one day, a museum visitor can touch such different layers and milestones of the history and culture of our region, the richest collections of the museum. The museum’s funds contain a photo documentary fund consisting of photographic materials and written sources that reliably and documentarily show the pre-revolutionary and Soviet period of development of society, as well as photographs and documents of personal origin, posters, posters, newspapers and maps. The ethnographic collection and objects of decorative and applied art have been formed since the museum was founded and reflect a part of the culture of the peoples inhabiting the Baikal region and the Transbaikalia from the XVIII century to the present.
In order to trace the milestones of the development and formation of our capital, it is important to look into the Museum of the History of the City of Ulan-Ude (located in the house of merchant I.N. Goldobin). The museum is a historical and cultural retrospective display of the main stages of the formation of our city - from prison to the capital. According to the master plans of the developments, it is possible to get acquainted with the history of urban planning, with the works of architects L.K. Minerta and A.R. Vampilova - authors of projects of Victory Avenue, the airport, reconstruction of the Council Square and many other objects that have been preserved in our city. The exposition of the museum tells about the famous and little-known residents of the city and their occupations, about how merchants, middle-class citizens, and middle-class citizens lived. Passing by the shop windows, one cannot help keeping an eye on the greyed-out and yellowed receipts, bills, promissory notes, credit cards. All of these clearly indicates that our city was a trade and distribution centre of all of Eastern Siberia. You can find out about what you were trading at fairs in Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) at the exhibition, recreated according to the memoirs of the doctor Mikhail Tansky. Separate items with labelling recreate the atmosphere of those years. The doors of the Museum of the history of the city of Ulan-Ude are always open for guests and residents of the capital of the Republic of Buryatia. Every visitor is welcome here.
Ivan Flegontovich Goldobin was one of the richest merchants of Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) and Zabaykalsky Krai, an honorary hereditary citizen of Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk). Born in the Urals, originally lived in the city of Irkutsk, he had a distillery in a Manzurka village called "Nikolaevsky", many of its residents found earnings at the Goldobinsky enterprises.
Successes in commerce and business allowed Goldobin to engage in charity and patronage of the city, he donated to the needs of the city, built and maintained a shelter (poorhouse) for the sacrificed rootless, poor, elderly, blind and disabled people of both sexes, a shelter for convicted children. On June 21, 1891, Tsesarevich Nikolay came to the Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk). Moreover, the Cossack guard and the city welcomed him with bread and salt near the arch. Then Tsarevich had to drive along Bolshaya Street to Odigitrievsky Cathedral, where a prayer service was served. He stopped at the house of the merchant Goldobin. The decision on which house the Tsarevich would stay in was taken by the Verkhneudinsk (the Upper Udinsk) city council. The house was chosen both externally and clean internally, and the family was a small merchant Goldobin Ivan Flegontovich. The first guild merchant, he owned this house since 1889. Goldobin was the custodian of the orphanages at the time, orphanages. Engaged in charity. The most cultured man of his time, Irkutsk merchant. He bought a house here and lived with his family in this house. Goldobin a year after the visit of the Tsarevich, died in 1892 and was buried in Irkutsk. His wife Elizaveta Ivanovna lived in the city, she inherited this house, and she lived in this house during the years of Soviet power.
After nationalization, she was tried to be evicted from the house, but in 1923 Mikhail Kalinin was in the city, and she asked him that “my husband and I carried a lot of money and kept a detention facility for children, engaged in charity, helped schools, etc. d. Kalinin left a resolution on her statement: "Do not touch her." She lived in this house until the end of her days, died in this house, and was buried in the city cemetery.